On April 5-7, 2018, the Freedman Institute at Hofstra Law hosted a lively and engaging roundtable discussion with legal ethics scholars and movement lawyers from around the country. The purpose of the roundtable was to discuss the ways in which legal ethics rules may impede social justice progress and to make recommendations for changes to the rules as well as to create standards and share best practices.

Participant Contact List

  • Sameer Ashar
    Sameer Ashar University of California, Irvine Clinical Professor of Law and Co-Director of the UC Irvine Immigrant Rights Clinic
    Clinical Professor of Law and Co-Director of the UC Irvine Immigrant Rights Clinic

    401 East Peltason Drive, Law 3500-B
    Irvine, CA 92697-8000
    sashar@law.uci.edu
    949-824-9868

  • Baher Azmy
    Baher Azmy Center for Constitutional Rights
    Legal Director

    666 Broadway, 7th Floor
    New York, NY 10012
    BAzmy@ccrjustice.org
    212-614-6464

  • Susan Carle
    Susan Carle American University Washington College of Law
    Professor of Law

    4300 Nebraska Ave NW, Room Y241
    Washington DC 20016
    scarle@wcl.american.edu
    202-274-4188

  • Scott Cummings
    Scott Cummings UCLA Law
    Robert Henigson Professor of Legal Ethics

    385 Charles E. Young Drive East
    Los Angeles, CA, 90095
    cummings@law.ucla.edu
    323-630-9142

  • King Downing
    King Downing National Lawyers Guild
    Director of Mass Defense

    132 Nassau Street, Suite 922
    New York, NY 10038
    massdef@nlg.org
    212-679-5100 x14#

  • Sienna Fontaine
    Sienna Fontaine Make the Road New York
    Co-Legal Director

    301 Grove Street
    Brooklyn, New York 11237
    sienna.fontaine@maketheroadny.org
    718-418-7690

  • Bruce Green
    Bruce Green Fordham University School of Law
    Louis Stein Chair of Law; Director, Stein Center for Law and Ethics

    Fordham Law
    150 West 62nd Street, 7-168
    New York, NY 10023
    bgreen@law.fordham.edu
    212-636-6851

  • Michael Haber
    Michael Haber Maurice A. Deane School of Law
    Hofstra University
    Associate Clinical Professor of Law and Attorney-in-Charge, Community & Economic Development Clinic

    121 Hofstra University
    Hempstead, NY 11549
    Michael.L.Haber@hofstra.edu
    516-463-4739

  • Meena Jagannath
    Meena Jagannath Community Justice Project, Inc.
    Co-founder

    3000 Biscayne Boulevard, Suite 106
    Miami, FL 33137
    meena@communityjusticeproject.com
    609-933-4388

  • Gowri Krishna
    Gowri Krishna New York Law School
    Associate Professor

    185 West Broadway
    New York, NY 10013
    gowrijkrishna@gmail.com
    347-528-1903

  • Kate Kruse
    Kate Kruse Mitchell Hamline School of Law
    Hamline University
    Professor of Law, Associate Dean of Experiential Education and Curriculum

    875 Summit Avenue, Room 359
    Saint Paul, MN 55105
    kate.kruse@mitchellhamline.edu
    651-695-7660

  • Sarah Leberstein
    Sarah Leberstein Fordham University School of Law’s Stein Center for Law and Ethics
    Associate Director

    150 West 62nd Street, Rm. #7-168
    New York, NY 10023
    leberstein@fordham.edu
    212-636-6988

  • Theo Liebmann
    Theo Liebmann Maurice A. Deane School of Law
    Hofstra University
    Clinical Professor of Law and Director of Clinical Programs

    121 Hofstra University
    Hempstead, NY 11549
    Theordor.S.Liebmann@hofstra.edu
    516-463-4736

  • Jennifer (JJ) Rosenbaum
    Jennifer (JJ) Rosenbaum Global Labor Justice Project and Lecturer at Harvard Law School

    1616 P Street NW, Suite 150
    Washington, DC 20009
    jenniferjrosenbaum@gmail.com
    504-376-6238

  • Jerónimo Saldaña
    Jerónimo Saldaña LatinoJustice PRLDEF
    Co-Director Justice Reform Collaborative
    Member of Mijente

    99 Hudson Street, #14
    New York, NY 10013
    jsaldana@latinojustice.org
    562-644-8413

  • Marci Seville
    Marci Seville Golden Gate University School of Law
    Professor Emerita
    Director, Women’s Employment Rights Clinic (1993-2015)

    marci.seville@gmail.com
    415-794-7204

  • Purvi Shah
    Purvi Shah Movement Law Lab
    Founder & Executive Director Co-Founder & Advisory Board Member of Law For Black Lives

    3401 Greenway #402
    Baltimore, MD 21218
    305-546-5912

  • Marbre Stahly-Butts
    Marbre Stahly-Butts Black Lives Matter/Law for Black Lives
    Co-Director (Partnership)

    464 Macon Street, #2
    Brooklyn, NY 11233
    marbre@law4blacklives.org
    909-289-1500

  • Paul Tremblay
    Paul Tremblay Boston College Law School
    Clinical Professor of Law

    Boston College Law School
    885 Centre Street
    Newton Centre, MA 02459
    paul.tremblay@bc.edu
    617-552-0256

  • Chris Williams
    Chris Williams Workers' Law Office, P.C.

    53 W. Jackson Boulevard, #701
    Chicago, IL 60604
    CWilliams@wagetheftlaw.com
    334-269-1803

  • Mary Yanik
    Mary Yanik New Orleans Workers' Center for Racial Justice and National Guestworker Alliance
    Staff Attorney & Liman Fellow

    217 N. Prieur Street
    New Orleans, LA 70112
    myanik@nowcrj.org
    504-264-4219

Freedman Institute Staff and Freedman Justice Fellows

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search